WhatsApp now lets you control who can add you to Groups

WhatsApp has added a new feature that will stop people from automatically adding you to groups.

The Facebook-owned company will now allow you to block randoms from adding you to annoying group chats and spare you from unnecessary notifications.

This new privacy feature is to give users more control over how they use group chats. Who is able to add them to a group and more importantly, who can’t.

How to enable this new WhatsApp feature

To enable it, go to Settings in your app, then tap Account > Privacy > Groups and select one of three options: “Nobody”, “My Contacts”, or “Everyone”.

“Nobody” means you’ll have to approve joining every group to which you’re invited, and “My Contacts” means only users you have in your address book can add you to groups.

In those cases, the person adding you to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving you the choice of joining the group. You will have three days to accept the invite before it expires.

With these new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive. These new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming weeks to those using the latest version of WhatsApp. A statement from whatsApp official site.

The following two tabs change content below.

Okoye Gift

Writer at EWT News Service
Gift is an independent writer who never shy away from anything tech, culture and entertainment. She is a B.Sc degree holder in Information Technology and content editor for EWT News Service. When she's not covering top tech stories and news, she's working on how-to tips for PC users, or listening to her favorite musics.

Add Comment